Patrons of the Society

The Society has Patrons, who do not have a day-to-day involvement in the Society, but have given talks to the Society and lend support where and when they can. In addition, we have a Royal Honorary Member – HRH The Duke of Kent – who is also the President of the Royal Institution of Great Britain.

Honorary Member: HRH The Duke of Kent

Prince Edward, Duke of KentKG, GCMG, GCVO (Edward George Nicholas Paul Patrick; born 9 October 1935), is a member of the British Royal Family, a grandchild of King George V. He has held the title of Duke of Kent since 1942 and is president of the Royal Institution of Great Britain.

Sir Michael Atiyah

Sir Michael Francis AtiyahOM, FRS, FRSE (born 22 April 1929) is a British mathematician specialising in geometry. He was awarded the Fields Medal in 1966, the Copley Medal in 1988, and the Abel Prize in 2004.

Sir Aaron Klug

Sir Aaron KlugOM, FRS (born 11 August 1926) is a Lithuanian-born British chemist and biophysicist, and winner of the 1982 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his development of crystallographic electron microscopy and his structural elucidation of biologically important nucleic acid-protein complexes.

Sir Paul Nurse

Sir Paul Maxime Nurse, PRS born 25 January 1949, is a British geneticist and cell biologist. He was awarded the 2001 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine with Leland H. Hartwell and Richard Timothy Hunt for their discoveries of protein molecules that control the division (duplication) of cells in the cell cycle. Nurse is the current President of the Royal Society, as well as Chief Executive and Director of the Francis Crick Institute.

Professor Heinz Wolff

Professor Heinz Wolff, FIEE, FRCP (Hon), FRSA is a German-British scientist, and television and radio presenter who was born in 1928. He is popularly known for his television and radio work, including the TV series The Great Egg Race.

Professor Anthony Hewish

Antony Hewish FRS (born Fowey, Cornwall, 11 May 1924) is a British radio astronomer who won the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1974 (together with fellow radio-astronomer Martin Ryle) for his work on the development of radio aperture synthesis and its role in the discovery of pulsars. He was also awarded the Eddington Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society in 1969.

Sir Salvador Moncada

Sir Salvador Enrique Moncada, FRS, FRCP (born 3 December 1944, Tegucigalpa, Honduras) is a Honduran-British physician and pharmacologist. He is the husband of Princess Marie-Esméralda of Belgium, who is a member of the Belgian Royal Family.

Professor Lord Martin Rees

Martin John Rees, Baron Rees of Ludlow, OM, FRS (born 23 June 1942, York, England) is a British cosmologist and astrophysicist. He has been Astronomer Royal since 1995. He was President of the Royal Society between 2005 and 2010 and Master of Trinity College between 2004 and 2012.

Our Sponsors

Aaas Logo
Sci Logo
Schlumberger Logo
JP Morgen